Sight Lines – A Greyweathers Press sampler

I’ve been thinking about printing a comprehensive type sampler for a while. I’ve been  pulling out drawers untouched for years, squinting at the characters cast in reverse and searching through reference books for its identity. When I got my press (2004) I did not require corrective lenses to see, and then the notion of  arranging the type samples as Snellen eye examination charts came to me.

The problem with this is that most of my type, with the exception of Italian Oldstyle, is one size only, meaning that to create charts I’d have to mix up the fonts. I did indeed do this for one of the type ‘illustrations’ in the finished sampler.

I printed 100 copies, with 60 destined for the OPG collaboration (delivery tomorrow!) and final 40 to be offered for sale at the Merrickville Studio Tour, the last two weekends in September.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Letterpress printing, Typography

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

