A New Year Full of Hope

Bill's barn, as viewed from the 'old' house.

When I say that by late December, the year gone by had gotten really old, to use the youthful parlance, I mean it. Over the interim between Christmas and New Years I did little but socialize and wheeze, the latter symptom now a carry-over from a year I’d rather put behind me.

Now it is snowing again, after a new year’s thaw which robbed us of our thin covering, and the radio tells me it is causing havoc in the city. The view from my window is much like above, but without the sunshine. It’s good to be here and not there, back on a schedule, working with solid orders to start off the new year. It lends to a desire to shake off the lethargy and fatigue that coloured the final days of 2010.

My intransigence extended to the press, most notably a Christmas card that never materialized, which is now morphing into a ‘winter’s wish’ card or some such. It’s been I while since I posted process shots, so I’ll do that now.

World as ornament

Part of the reason I couldn’t force myself to the task (aside from feeling rather grinch-like) was that I didn’t like the idea: the globe as an ornament ties in nicely to one of our products – indeed, our livelihood – but I just couldn’t get my head around it. I thought about doing the obvious and making a statement, just setting type for “fragile – handle with care” but it seemed so preachy. The design was simple enough – snagged a public domain shot of the globe, traced it in Illustrator and hand-drew the ribbon and the lines of longitude and latitude. But the idea still need work.

Holly’s always wanted me to do a card featuring our dog, Sneak. So I started by doing some collage, taking bits and pieces of photographs, played with them and arranged them until things looked right, and produced an outline drawing using tracing paper. Personally, in this image I wanted a feeling of warmth and comfort, so I placed both Sneak and our cat Tennyson in front of the woodstove, with Sneak in one of our wing chairs, which he claims as his own (when I’m not in it!).

"Christmas" card idea, with line-work transfered to a linoleum block.

I’m thinking of using a quote from Coleridge:

And Winter slumbering in the open air,
Wears on his smiling face a dream of Spring!

The context is ominous though, coming as it does from the poet’s depressing ode to incapability titled Work Without Hope. Well, time still to ponder that, while this morning I’ll cut the block, proof it and decide whether it’s worthy enough to share with family and friends.

Fractal design in our window, like a mad economist's line chart!

Explore posts in the same categories: Lino Cuts, Musings

Leave a Reply

