Lest We Forget

Every November 11, I  get a call in to my father, a veteran of WWII, to say thank you, and if time permits, I wander down to the modest cenotaph here in the village of Merrickville and watch the vets parade, which is exactly what I did this year. The day was brilliant if a bit cool, and there must have been over 300 persons in attendance, which is an excellent turnout for a village of 1,000 souls. Fifty wreaths must have been piled on the steps to the cairn, and the applause for the veterans marching out was spontaneous and enthusiastic. Overall, though, the modest proceedings moved me, and left me feeling thoughtful and somewhat downcast the rest of the day.

Which, I suppose, is the point.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

One Comment on “Lest We Forget”

  1. Deb Says:

    Good for you, Larry. Too many people just don’t bother. I have great bosses; they close the office at 10:30 so we can walk down to the cenotaph and join the remembrance crowd, and applaud the veterans.


Leave a Reply

