Darkness Visible

As we approach the middle of the year, I begin to wonder where the time goes. Since last writing in this blog over a month ago, no work has happened on Graven Images. One explanation for this, a rather sudden and much welcomed influx of “other paying work”, is quite justified; the other, a lethargic loss of momentum, is quite lame. This lethargy was fed by the opportunity to view all five seasons of the darkly comic Six Feet Under, a viewing experience that I enjoyed greatly and recommend to others, although a liberal predisposition regarding certain sexual mores is advised.

Part of the interruption in printing resulted from a four day long road trip to to cover auctions near Toronto and in London. Both these stories were by assignment for the Maine Antique Digest, a massive antiques trade newspaper that publishes monthly. I’d enjoy putting the stories out here for you to read, but the good editor of MAD, reasonable though he may be, would be justifiably miffed at being scooped by his own reporter. Suffice to say, the first auction in Bowmanville Ontario was for part of the estate of Rob Lambert, a long-time collector and dealer of Canadiana. The second in London was for the late Elizabeth Ingolfsrud who published several small books on Ontario antiques back in the 1970s, and collected ferociously during that time as well. Oddly enough, she happens to be my second cousin, but barely knowing her, I wrote the review straight, and shared the family connection only with my editor.

Another writing project was a review of Henry and Barbara Dobson’s book Heritage Furnishings of Atlantic Canada for The Upper Canadian, Canada’s antiques magazine. So all in all, a busy month of writing, and filling studio orders. One positive note, in this time I managed to dis out all the type from the earlier print jobs.

While not big on book production, I did sell a few books to persons coming into the studio, and in two cases, there may be private book commissions upcoming. It’s always rather surprising to meet people who are not completely stunned by the costs involved.

So now, as I am about to make the last push on Graven Images, I have also to consider how to more effectively use the new on-line media to build this strange business. I haven’t exactly been successful with all this stuff; in part, that because my inclination to on-line social introversion is, indeed, a reflection of a tendency to introversion in the “real” world: one that I constantly resist.

The press’ second five year plan involves stepping out and stepping up in all areas, which means FaceBook, blogging and Twitter. This stuff sucks a lot of energy out me, but it’s something I’ve got to apply myself to.

Which brings me to my point: in the loooong gaps in press production, the blog goes dark. From the start I had intended this space as “printing only”. Over the past few years, customers have lamented the fact that, while the web site and now the blog show what I do, or even how I do it, but don’t show much about how my mind works. They want to know what makes someone like me tick. What do I read? What is my take on abstract art? Who are my heroes. What is the future of book arts. And more personal things. Gads! My baffled response remains: why would anyone want to know that? Why would anyone care? In any event, I am going to open the blog up a bit to cover a few more subjects, mostly relating to the arts, but also to things going on in my life that feed my art. Hopefully that helps shine some dim light into the long, black pauses. I’m also lifting my not-before-mentioned prohibition of mentioning others. I created the blog to be a self-interested press journal and if others followed along, well, okay. Time to take more risks.

So I’ll start big. I’ve been assembling notes and references on art, book arts and artists, and issues surround these subjects seem to be coming up a lot, so shortly I will put up something about that. It’s in the air and in my head, so out it will come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

3 Comments on “Darkness Visible”

  1. Brent Buckner Says:

    Ah, a five-year plan. Presumably not:
    “First, we kill dissidents. Then we build tractors!”

    • Larry Says:

      Less “workers of the world unite” and more fitting into a niche market. But total global domination is still part of the plan. Of course.

  2. steph Says:

    So FINALLY we get to hear all about that thing that happened that time with you-know-who and so on and so on and such? 😉


Leave a Reply

