Gone to Do the Laundry

gone-to-do-laundry

I’m very fond of this print; it is one of three or four this series that relates to my family. The setting is in the home of Holly’s mother and stepfather, whose beautiful and ancient log house is situated in a bucolic woodland paradise. My mother-in-law is a woman of great energy, and this is her chair, and the title says the rest. It’s a pink chair. Not my colour exactly, but it doesn’t matter: I work mostly in black and white. The book wasn’t on the chair in the original photograph; I added it to breath some life into the setting. Holly’s mom is, I suspect, to careful and respectful of books to actually leave one like fanned open like this, but that’s what happens when I print without an artistic license. One of these days I’ll be arrested!

This lino cut sat out on my table for over a year as I pondered over what to do with the window. I had played with the idea of having a deer looking in (and believe me when I say that such a happening is well within the realm of possibility!) but decided at the last to just add tone.

I haven’t ruled out deer as subject matter in the future, though….

Explore posts in the same categories: Block Printing, Lino Cuts

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

