A few treasures

The big spring cleaning in the press room yielded some interesting finds, including:

dscn0061.jpgA wood cut map of jolly old London (from a reprint in a 19th century book, I think)

dscn0064.jpgA piece of practice calligraphy Holly did for a painting I remember being on the wall when we first met.

dscn0066.jpgSome more of Holly’s work.

Here’s a few thoughts on paper. For a letter press printer, or calligrapher and artists in general, paper takes on importance of monumental proportions. Indeed, the value of letterpress printing over other forms, including offset, laser, inkjet etc, is that letterpress can printing on almost any kind of paper, particularly beautiful hand-made kinds. It’s hard to explain, but when I pick up a piece of paper in my hand and feel its texture, see its landscape, and my mouth waters, I know I want to print on it. Sometimes I think I startle some people by describing a paper as “good enough to eat.” Now you know why.

Which is the problem Holly and I have, and the problem I’ve been dealing with the last couple of days. Holly and I have collected some beautiful papers, and they need to be stored. In the future it would be nice to say I’ll only buy what I need, and give away the offcuts and left-overs to a worthy cause, but I don’t think it’s gonna happen. If only we could eat it!

Paper good enough to eat:

  • Arches text wove
  • Fabriano
  • Strathmore
  • Anything from Paperie St. Armand in Montreal
  • Vellum (the paper variety, although the goat skin can be printed on as well, and a good source of protein, I guess)
  • Ingrams text weight or print weight paper
Explore posts in the same categories: Paper

Leave a Reply

