Happy New Year

Happy New Year and welcome to my web log. Having asked myself the question: “Why am I doing this?” I have come up with a few possible answers:

  1. Blogging may force me to write. Once upon a time I was a writer. Nothing sexy like fiction. I wrote for money. I also did a fair bit of editing, and wound up with a steady gig as editor on an antiques trade newspaper. That was my last writing job, so when the focus in my life shifted from writing about antiques to working in arts and crafts, I stopped writing. That was about three years ago, and to be honest, I didn’t loose much sleep over it. People used to ask me tentatively, “How do you feel…” as though I should be in some kind of deep anguish, but the truth was I didn’t miss writing, and I stopped responding to the ubiquitous question “What do you do?” with “I’m a writer.” What concerned me most in the end was the “use it or lose it” nature of the craft. I’d go to pen a sentence or two, and found there a struggle. So this blog may help. Back in the late 1990s and early 00’s, I kept an electronic journal which, in retrospect, served more as a vent for negative emotion than any other purpose, as you might expect with a private journal. Lots of futile gnashing of teeth and anguish. Truly boring and rather excruciating reading material (I’m guessing, because I’ve never gone back to read any of it.) So, aside from exercising my scribbling skills, why a blog?
  2. Blogging could document the progress of my press. I own a vintage printing press and a quantity of lead type with which I print books and block prints. I’ve had the press for about five years, but have only been printing seriously for just over two years, and a lot has happened that remains undocumented. I’ve written a couple of articles on Greyweathers Press, which I will post here soon. It is my serious intent to be printing and publishing letterpress books for many, many years, so a blog may make an interesting record for myself, and for those who share my interest in this craft. I am still in my apprenticeship, so there will be many adventures to come.
  3. Blogging may help me find my voice. The mythology I once had of myself was one of silence: that even when I spoke aloud or wrote I said nothing at all. So the blog might give me the opportunity to digress into philosophical musings that I might not otherwise indulge in.

So there it is, my blog manifesto. The astute reader will note that this constitution is greatly qualified with ambiguity: “may force,” “could document” and “may help” — not exactly the most convincing New Year’s resolutions. That’s because I’m not making any promises to myself or anyone else. I lead a crazy life, and there just may not be time for this kind of indulgence, but I’ll give it a shot.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Happy New Year”

  1. Chris Says:

    OOH! I get to be the first to comment! Well done Larry, I’ve now added you to my blog list and will ‘watch this space’ with interest. I went to some of the links you provided and found other pics of you and Holly – also “through the looking glass’ which looks fascinating. Small point – Holly’s pics enlarge when you click on them – did you not want this? Good luck with this, Larry … it may inspire me to start my own. Chris PS Sneak gets into both sites!!!

  2. Larry Says:

    Thanks Chris. I spent all day New Years poking around at this blog server’s innards trying to figure out how it all worked. Holly did hers in half an hour! (Geek). I don’t know how to make pictures blow up yet. As soon as I figure it out, you’ll be the first to hear the explosion….

  3. Steph Says:

    Yay, Larry! I’m glad you’re sharing your voice with us – even if it is ambiguous! I love the look of your blog. I have yet to make mine pretty. So far I’m pretty much all about the text. You’re bookmarked!


Leave a Reply

